29 Flowers, 29 Days: Day 8

Today’s flower: Tradescantia

I didn’t know anything about this flower before starting, but wikipedia says it’s a spiderwort. Anyway, it is a basic crochet pattern (no. 48) which turned out like so:

DSCF4239

DSCF4240

There’s not much I can say about that (bar finding a massive knot in the purple yarn), except that the tradescantia wasn’t originally the flower intended for Day 8. I was feeling quite brave when I got back from work, and actually started making a knitted dahlia, but by midnight I had made 18 petals and had a further 12 to go (having spent nearly 3 hours knitting with the rest of the time spent at a choir rehearsal). Disaster. So, I whipped up one of the easy crochet flowers to fill in, and hopefully I’ll be able to finish the dahlia as tomorrow’s flower. That’s not cheating, right?

DSCF4238

Leave a Reply

