Winding (and winding and winding)

Last December, I joined a sock club called “When Granny Weatherwax Knits Socks“. If you need to ask why I joined this club on a sudden impulse being an absolute knitting novice and having never knitted a pair of socks in my life, then you obviously either haven’t read any Discworld books or are one of those strange people who don’t actually like the Discworld books.

It’s a joint project between a lady called Joy who dyes yarn under the name “The Knitting Goddess” and sock pattern designer Rachel Coopey. Every month there’s a pattern and a specially dyed yarn to go with it based on something out of a Discworld book. The books are taken in order, so January’s installment is based on The Colour of Magic.

DSCF3870

So pretty! I must admit I always imagined octarine to be more greeny yellow with hints of purple, but that would probably make a fairly hideous looking sock.

Anyway, I haven’t got very far with this yet, mainly because the yarn arrived in skein form, and it needed transforming into ball form before I could safely knit with it. I finally got the idea to take it into work to do, as a nice, simple, relaxing activity in between searching frantically for a drawing that’s actually available so I can get some obscure part number. As a bonus, the drawers at work are incredibly long and just the right size to drape the skein around so that I don’t get the yarn hopelessly tangled (unlike my first attempt at winding a yarn ball which was pretty disastrous all told – it took a solid week’s worth of evenings to untangle it all :( ).

I decided to attempt the Laughing Purple Goldfish method of winding yarn, which involves winding it around a cardboard tube. Hereby follows a pictorial documentary of my attempt:

DSCF4024

DSCF4027

DSCF4029

It was going so well! Then I ran out of toilet roll tube…

DSCF4042

“Nevermind!” thought I, “Let us continue regardless!”. I mean, I was definitely NOT about to unwind it all and start again. It took 3 days of lunchbreaks winding away (and 30-60 min winding sessions after work) to get to this point! So I continued, and with a bit of care I ended up with this:

DSCF4044

Look! An end! A actual end! I even managed to keep the top hole at about the same diameter as the tube!

DSCF4045

 Unfortunately, the bottom hole was by now being formed around my thumb, so it was a bit smaller:

DSCF4047

All that remained was to remove the tube, and rescue the end I started with. A bit of tube squashing later, and a bit of yarn ball squashing to relieve some of the tension in the yarn (built up whilst wrapping round), and I finally have a centre pull ball of yarn. :)

DSCF4051

The pink bit of yarn coming out of the centre is the piece that will hopefully unravel the whole thing from the middle out. All I have to do now is knit some wizard-y socks with it. Hah! We’ll see how that goes…

2 thoughts on “Winding (and winding and winding)

    • I’m glad it worked out! I was doing mine quite slowly during lunch breaks just to take my mind off work busy-ness, so although it may be neater, it probably took about 5 times as long to do. :) Also after seeing how much ball winders and swifts cost, I think I much prefer this method even with the extra time taken. Good luck with your knitting projects, and thanks very much for commenting/reading.

Leave a Reply

