Mug Cosy Completed!

I finished the mug cosy! It took a little longer than I thought, but at least I finished it before the work secret santa deadline.

So, at the end of my last post, there wasn’t very much to it at all. However, what little there was got ripped back to the foundation chain, and then the next attempt ripped back once more before I finally got going. On the plus side, I now understand a lot better how to find the loop to push the hook through to get it under both foundation chain loops. :) I still missed three of them out of the 37, but nevermind.

DSCF3760

This is where I got to by the end of Wednesday night. Most of this was done whilst listening/watching Peter play “Amnesia: The Dark Descent” and Rob play “Orcs Must Die“. Amnesia is much more horrific when just listening to it rather than paying it full attention. I didn’t actually think that was possible. :S Also, I’m going to continue to link to Peter’s blog whenever I mention him in an effort to make him update it. ;)

Next stage, add a border and a button. This was more difficult than it seems, as I decided to divert from the pattern to add a button strap. The pattern (from Let’s Get Crafting Iss 35, Knit and Crochet Christmas) originally called for two buttons, one in each corner, but this seems to me to be a flawed solution as it only works on certain handle types. I ended up adding a four stitch wide button strap using treble crochet stitches, but skipping one of the middle stitches to make a hole wide enough for a button, and doing two trebles in one of the side stitches to make up for the skipped stitch. This made it a bit lopsided – next time I’ll use three or five stitches.

DSCF3766

This shot shows you the button holes, and also the lopsidedness of the strap. :( The side with the two trebles in one stitch looks a lot neater.

DSCF3767

I also had some trouble with the button, as I wanted to use the border yarn to sew it on with. However, this is what happened when I introduced my yarn needle to the button:

DSCF3762

This was circumvented in the following way with a helpful suggestion from Rob:

DSCF3764

I had to tie the knots in the thread though. Very fiddly! And that was Thursday night taken up. Anyway, to finish it off, yesterday I made up a crochet leaf pattern and today I made four leaves and sewed them to the cosy:

DSCF3771

DSCF3772

And yes, the Old Peculier is mine in the above photo. Well, strictly it’s Rob’s Dad’s, but I stole it MWAHAHAHAHAHAHARRRR!!!

DSCF3775

Finito! If anyone’s curious, my crochet leaf pattern is very simple and is as follows:

Chain 11

Do the following down the chain:

Slip stitch in the 2nd chain from hook (going under both loops in all these, naturally ;) )
Double crochet in next chain
Half Treble in next chain
Treble in next chain
Double Treble in next two chains
Treble in next chain
Half Treble in next chain
Double crochet in next chain
Slip stitch in next chain
Chain 1

Do the following back up the chain, on the other side to the previous stitches:

Double crochet in same chain as the last double crochet you did.
Half Treble in next chain, again, in the same loop as the previous HTr
Treble in next chain
Double Treble in next two chains
Treble in next chain
Half Treble in next chain
Double crochet in next chain
Slip stitch in next chain
Slip stitch to the tip of the leaf and fasten off, leaving about 12″ of yarn for sewing to whatever you’re going to sew it to.

And there, my first pattern! Probably very similar to many other leaf patterns, but if so that’s purely coincidental (and come on, it’s a simple oval leaf shape, there’s only so many ways you can come up with to make the same shape). My first attempt only had one double treble in the centre and ended up looking like a diamond/rhombus, so if you want to make one of those, then do as above but only ch 10 and don’t do one of the double trebles. ;)

Haha! My first pattern! I’m so chuffed. :D

7 thoughts on “Mug Cosy Completed!

  1. I am dead impressed. i like the description of the trial & error process. Very detailed and technical with photos, just like an instruction manual.

    • They’re on facebook, or I can show him them on Saturday when I’m up. :) I am planning to make a post about the rocket at some point, but I’ve sorta been saving it and the robin for when I have long stretches of time with nothing new to post about.

      Also, you do realise that my job is to write instruction manuals right? ;) This is good practise… I’m glad you like the cosy. Let me know if you’d like me to make you one!

  2. “This is where I got to by the end of Wednesday night. Most of this was done whilst listening/watching Peter play “Amnesia: The Dark Descent” and Rob play “Orcs Must Die“. Amnesia is much more horrific when just listening to it rather than paying it full attention. I didn’t actually think that was possible. :S Also, I’m going to continue to link to Peter’s blog whenever I mention him in an effort to make him update it. ;)”

    It ain’t gonna work :P Actually, thinking of posting something Skyrim related, we’ll see how it goes. Will be cross posting it with G+.

  3. Hi, Gemma. I’d like to announce my arrival on this blog. This is interesting. I didn’t realise that you’re into knitting as well now. You are a Renaissance woman. I’m impressed.

    • Hello Eddie! I’m knitting and crochet-ing but not terribly well. :) But I’m hoping that if I have a blog about it, it’ll encourage me to keep practising. Hopefully see you on Friday; we’ll be heading from Derby to Doncaster first, then catching the train.

Leave a Reply

